Monday, June 19, 2017

A Review of the Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series from Adventures of Rush Revere #1 New York Times Bestselling Book Series by Rush and Kathryn Adams Limbaugh

History doesn't always feel real to students because the events happened so long ago and that can make it a boring subject for students.  Wouldn't it be nice if there was a way to make history fun and help our students visualize the events?  This is exactly what the Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series from Adventures of Rush Revere #1 New York Times Bestselling Book Series by Rush and Kathryn Adams Limbaugh has been doing for my students since we received this book set to review.
Adventures of Rush Revere, American History,  Rush Limbaugh,  Kathryn Adams Limbaugh,  bestseller,  true,  accurate
Rush Limbaugh is a radio host who is known for his political commentary.  Did you also know that he has a passion for history?  He has taken his passion for history and along with his wife, Kathryn, created and authored the Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series.  This book series is designed for children 8-12, but as we have read these books I have enjoyed them as well so I think they are for everyone.  There are five books in this series and each one features Rush Revere, a substitute History teacher, and his trusty horse, Liberty.  Rush Revere and Liberty help history come alive to the Honors History classroom through time travel so that the students can see historical events happen first hand.  These books are fun, engaging, and a great way to learn more about important events in American History.  If the engaging books are not enough, they have created The Rush Revere Website.  This site is a valuable resource that accompanies the books.  It includes classroom and homeschool lesson plans, activities, quizzes, games, and more to help students learn more.
Look how beautifully this series was packaged.
Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims is book one in this series.  It features Rush and Liberty travelling back in time to join the Pilgrims on their journey aboard the Mayflower, landing at Plymouth Rock, and experiencing the first Thanksgiving at Plymouth Plantation.   Through this story we get to meet modern day students in Rush's classroom and important historical figures.  Through Rush's interactions with these historical figures like, William Bradford, Myles Standish, and Squanto, the reader gets to learn details about what life was like for the Pilgrims, what their journey was like, and the struggles they endured.  We also learned about the courage and bravery it took to be a pilgrim on the Mayflower.

Rush Revere and the First Patriots is book two in this series.  It features Rush and Liberty travelling back in time to the days leading up to the American Revolution.  The reader can feel the tension mounting in Boston as the Americans are becoming fed up with the unfair rules that King George III is trying to force up on them.  The time travelling becomes more complicated when Rush has a student that is trying to interfere with his methods of teaching.  Lucky for us Rush and Liberty have other students on their side to help them so we get to meet Patrick Henry, Samuel Adams, and even King George III, himself.  This book has the reader on the edge of their seat as they cheer on the Patriots.

Rush Revere and the American Revolution is book three in this series.  As you can guess from the title, it features Rush and Liberty travelling back in time to the American Revolution.  This helps Rush teach his Honors History students about the true meaning of freedom.  How could it not when in this story we get to meet George Washington, Dr. Joseph Warren, and Paul Revere.  This exciting story not only features the American Revolution, but helps us understand more of what modern day children feel when their parents are deployed for the military like Cam's dad was.  This is also a story of courage, bravery, and making good decisions since this is what we see for all the characters in the book.

Rush Revere and the Star-Spangled Banner is book four in this series.  In this book Rush and Liberty take their students on a field trip to Washington D.C. where they get to see all the important historical sites.  The students learn more about the American government when they visit the streets of Philadelphia that played such an important role in our nations history.  In this book they get to meet important historical figures like Francis Scott Key, Dolley Madison, and George Mason.  This book is filled with a lot of emotion, excitement, and action as the students learn a lot of history.

Rush Revere and the Presidency is book five in this series.  In this book Rush and Liberty teach their students all about elections, from a modern day student-body presidential election to the first elections in our nation's history.  Rush and Liberty get help teaching the students about elections from George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and John Adams.  We learn a lot about the decisions George Washington had to make as he was our first president.  We even get to hear from the wives of these three presidents and we learn how they helped their husbands.  This book really helps explain the role of a president, the process of elections, and how government works while being an action packed adventure.
Our family has been loving this series of books.  At first it took us a little bit to get used to Rush and Liberty's time traveling, but it wasn't too long before Little Miss was shouting, "Rush, Rush, Rushing to History" along with Rush Revere as he and Liberty jumped into the time portals.  Both my 8 year old, and my 13 year old, have enjoyed our family read aloud time.  I figured since it was summer I would give them a break from reading and I would read aloud to them.  They get so caught up in the adventure filled stories that they beg me to keep reading.  They felt bad for the Pilgrims on the Mayflower and couldn't believe how terrible the living conditions on the boat were.  They learned what life was like in the Plymouth Plantation and that the pilgrims really struggled and could have all died if they had not gotten help from the Indians.  Both of the kids loved trying to be the first to answer the Liberty Asks questions at the back of the book.  My kids also have been enjoying learning about the days leading up to the American Revolution.  They said they could picture how upset and angry the people were about King George III trying to rule from a different country.  They booed the British soldiers for treating the Americans badly.  They are ready to finish up book two today so they can get started on Rush Revere and the American Revolution.  What my kids don't know is that I have skimmed through books 3, 4, and 5.  I know some of the things that happen in the upcoming books and I know they will be sitting on the edge of their seats as we read through the books.
This series of books has truly captivated our attention and taught us more about historical figures and events.  My kids and I have enjoyed them and we look forward to finishing out the series this summer.  It is a great way to keep the kids learning through the summer without them even thinking they are learning.  Both of my kids have asked me to make sure we learn more about the events we have read about so far in books 1 and 2, when we start up school this fall.  I call this a HUGE win!!!  We highly recommend the Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series.  You can find out more on their website, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.  You can also find out what my friends on the Homeschool Review Crew thought of this series by clicking the banner below.
Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series {Reviews}

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and leave a comment, it means the world to me!